The Philosophy Department's Committee for Diversity, Inclusion, Climate, and Equity (DICE)

Mission Statement

Our Department is committed to providing a <u>learning</u>, <u>living</u>, <u>and working environment free</u> from discrimination and harassment.

In this spirit the Department has created a Committee for Diversity, Inclusion, Climate, and Equity whose task is to sustain this commitment and to help ensure that we maintain a safe, respectful, supportive, and vibrant place for all who work, study, and visit.

The Committee for Diversity, Inclusion, Climate, and Equity will make every effort to remove barriers to inclusiveness in philosophy as a discipline and will actively pursue the following aims:

- fairness and inclusiveness in hiring and graduate admissions;
- fairness and inclusiveness in the planning of colloquia and related events;
- respectful discussion in classes, seminars, colloquia, and related events;
- increasing the diversity of undergraduates and our course offerings;
- awareness of relevant conduct policies;
- attention to and confidential treatment of personal and interpersonal issues;
- effective communication with relevant extra-departmental resources and services.

In addition, the Committee for Diversity, Inclusion, Climate, and Equity will serve as a liaison between various related initiatives promoted or sponsored by the Department, including:

- the <u>Rethink (Community Outreach)</u> program;
- the Minorities and Philosophy Initiative;
- the New York Society for Women in Philosophy;
- the Justice in Education initiative (Heyman Center for the Humanities);
- our rich Visiting Scholars program.

For the year 2021–2022, the Committee for Diversity, Inclusion, Climate, and Equity is composed of the following members:

- Fred Neuhouser (Chair)
- Tamar Lando
- Karen Lewis (on leave)
- Francey Russell